Board of Directors

Meet our board

Scott Sabin, President

Scott Sabin has served as the Executive Director of Plant With Purpose since 1995 and has grown from a single program in one country to include more than 440 communities across seven countries. Prior to working for Plant With Purpose, he served seven years in the United States Navy and in 2010 he published Tending to Eden: Environmental Stewardship for God’s People. Scott holds a degree in Political Science from Oregon State University and a MA in International Relations from the University of San Diego. Scott and his wife Nancy reside in San Diego with their two children: Amanda and Danny.


Cindy Outlaw, Board Chair

After traveling to Tanzania and summiting Mount Kilimanjaro in 2000, Solana Beach resident Cindy Outlaw decided she wanted to give back to the children of the East African country. During her trek she learned about the dilapidated state of school in her guide’s village and the lack of opportunities for education. Since 2003, Outlaw’s work with Plant With Purpose has included launching the program in Tanzania, serving on the board of directors and co-chairing the Plant For Tomorrow expansion campaign. Through the campaign, she helped raise $3.5 million to expand the international development organization’s work into the Congo and Ethiopia.


John Steel, Secretary

John Steel joined the board in 2015 and has been actively involved on the Executive Committee and through his role as Secretary. John is incredibly encouraging of all aspects of our work and was the former VP for Zytec Corp and Artesyn Technologies. He and his wife Gail retired to Solana Beach from Minnesota and have been actively involved at Solana Beach Presbyterian Church. Gail is an artist and has painted many beautiful pieces for the Plant With Purpose Gala. They have attended every Gala since 2006 and initially connected to Plant With Purpose through a home reception with long-time supporters, Barry and Shirley Billingsley.


Jeff Kahler, Treasurer

Jeff Kahler has been on the board since 2007 and currently serves on the Executive Committee. He is the CFO of Chuck Latham Associates and owner of Kahler Capital Management, LLC. He also serves as the CFO and Treasurer of Find us Faithful Foundation in Colorado, which has given over $1.5 million to Plant With Purpose over the past six years. Jeff lives in Castle Rock, Colorado with his wife Elle, where they attend Cherry Hills Community Church.


Darrell Shrader

Darrell Shrader is a longtime supporter of Plant With Purpose and a recent addition to its  Board of Directors. He is a physician by trade and an avid birdwatcher who enjoys spending  time in creation.

Cathi Lundy

Cathi Lundy has been an influential asset to Plant With Purpose. She has served multiple terms on the board since 2009, was Board Chair for three years, and currently serves on the External Affairs Committee. Cathi’s husband, Albro was a college friend of Dan Woodard (founder Tom Woodard’s brother.) Cathi and Albro attended Plant With Purpose’s first Gala in 1984 and have been big fans ever since.  Cathi leads a trip to Oaxaca every year with a group of women called the “Oaxaca Wahines.” She consults for various non-profits and leads marketing efforts for her husband’s law firm, Baker, Burton, & Lundy. Cathi and Albro live in Palos Verdes with their four children and have taken them to visit Plant With Purpose programs in several countries.


Craig Goodwin

Craig Goodwin has served on the board since 2012. Craig and his wife Nancy live in Spokane, Washington, where he is the Pastor and Head of Staff at Millwood Community Presbyterian Church. Craig has been a good friend of Doug Satre’s since they attended seminary together at Fuller.


Nick Wiik.

Nick Wiik joined the board in 2015 and serves on the External Affairs Committee. Nick first came to Plant With Purpose as an intern in 2009 and has stayed engaged as a donor ever since. He resides in Austin with his wife Anne.


Ted Law

Ted Law was elected to the board in 2016 and serves on the External Affairs Committee. Ted is the Head Pastor at Access Evangelical Covenant Church in Houston, Texas, which has been an active church partner and sponsor since 2007. Ted resides in Houston with his wife Amy.


Janet Farley

After many years of supporting Plant With Purpose, Jan Farley joined the board in 2016 and serves on the External Affairs Committee. She is the Associate Pastor at the Village Church, where Plant With Purpose has had an active and supportive partnership since 1997. Jan has been influential in bringing many people to us through the Village Church. Jan lives in La Jolla with her husband Richard.


Denise Yohn

Blending a fresh perspective, over twenty-five years of experience, and a talent for inspiring audiences, San Francisco-based Denise Lee Yohn is the author of What Great Brands Do and a leading authority on building and positioning exceptional brands. When she’s not writing or speaking, Denise serves as a board member of San Diego Sport Innovators and the non-profits Plant with Purpose and UrbanLife. She has also served as an advisory board member of the Millennium Alliance and World Brand Congress, a judge for the Association of Management Consulting Firms Awards, a finalist selection committee member for CONNECT’s Most Innovative New Product Awards, and the brand director for TEDxSanDiego.


Eric Kaiser

Eric Kaiser met Scott at an ECHO missions conference in Florida in 2001, where he instantly connected with Plant With Purpose’s work. Eric has since served on the board for several terms and came back on the board in 2017. Eric holds degrees from both SDSU and UCSD and is an engineer and leader at ViaSat. He also serves as the director of Widow’s Jar Foundation, which has been an integral partner of Plant With Purpose since the early 2000’s. Eric and his wife, Wendy, reside in San Diego, attend Emmanuel Faith Community Church, and have three children: Julia, Alex, and Zach. He enjoys rolling up his sleeves to work in his organic garden and restoring historic homes.

Craig Goodwin Nick Wiik Rick Burnette Ted Law Janet Farley Denise Yohn Eric Kaiser Craig Goodwin Nick Wiik Rick Burnette Ted Law Janet Farley Denise Yohn Eric Kaiser Craig Goodwin Nick Wiik Rick Burnette Ted Law Janet Farley Denise Yohn Eric Kaiser Craig Goodwin Nick Wiik Rick Burnette Ted Law Janet Farley Denise Yohn Eric Kaiser Craig Goodwin Nick Wiik Rick Burnette Ted Law Janet Farley Denise Yohn Eric Kaiser Craig Goodwin Nick Wiik Rick Burnette Ted Law Janet Farley Denise Yohn Eric Kaiser INVOLVED
Every $10 invested in our program brings $30-$100 of opportunities to a rural village.